St. Lucie County Theft Crime Lawyer
To laymen, burglary and theft are the same crime because they both have to do with stealing. However, in legal terms, burglary is different from theft. This article actually outlines the differences between both crimes from the legal standpoint.
Theft is defined as an intentional taking of another person’s property for the benefit of one’s own use or to knowingly take the property with intent to deprive the rightful owner of its use temporary or permanently. Theft can also be charged when the property is obtained through deception or fraudulent means. To Deprive the rightful owner of the property, means the rightful owner no longer has the item or use of the item. See Fla. Stat. ¬§812.014.
What if the Accused Returns the Item Taken, Will It Still Be Regarded as Theft?
Yes, Florida Statute ¬§812.014, states that even a temporary taking can be considered a theft. Before you make any statements to law enforcement consult with an attorney to learn your rights and potential defenses.
Can an Intangible Item Be Stolen?
Yes. Property is not only legally defined as tangible items such as a money, but intangible items that have value. For instance, password theft, loans, stocks and bonds, are just some examples of intangible property that can be stolen. However, this is not to be confused with copyright infringement law. Contact an attorney now to learn whether you are dealing with copyright infringement law or criminal theft.
What Are the Consequence of Florida Theft Charges?
The penalty received on a theft charge varies based on the value of the item stolen or how many times you have been previously convicted of a theft offense. Item/s with a value of $100 or more, but less than $300, is considered a first-degree petit theft. An item/s valued at less $100, is categorized as a second-degree petit theft. An item valued over $300 is a third-degree grand theft.
Petit theft in the second degree: Punishable by up to sixty (60) days in county jail and/or 6 months’ probation and up to a $500 fine.
Petit theft in the first degree: Punishable by up to one year (1) in the county jail and/or 1-year probation and up to a $1,000 fine. You can also be charged with a first-degree petit theft if you have been previously convicted of a theft.
Grand Theft of the third degree: A person can face up to five (5) years in prison and/or 5 years’ probation and up to a $5,000 fine.
To Learn More About the Varying Degree of Theft Contact Dadan Law Firm at 772-579-0347.
Need a St. Lucie Theft Crimes Lawyer? Call 772-579-0347
Contact Dadan Law Firm to learn more about how to defend against a theft crime. A theft conviction on your record may affect your driver’s license, future prospects of employment, your credibility, the opportunity to receive financial aid, acceptance into a college and/or university of your choice, and more. We offer a free strategic consultation and will discuss with you any and all potential defenses to your case.